News:

Plan-G has over 1700 followers on FACEBOOK! Click HERE and add your support

Main Menu

Question about the maps

Started by JMaskev, August 02, 2013, 02:17:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JMaskev

Hi,

I'm fairly new to FSX and brand new to Plan-G. Just love all the aspects of the program this far, but have some questions.

I have gone thru the tutorial in the manual and had a plan to make a flight plan around my local airport in Norway.
To my disappointment I noticed that there is no Visual Reference Points in Norway, at least not around where I'm from(Trondheim).

Maybe this is asked before, but could not find anything in the manual. Is there any 3rd party software that I can install so that I get Visual Reference Point in Norway? :)

Cheers

tim arnot

I can point you at the Norway AIP. https://www.ippc.no/ If no one has already done it, you would need to find the VRPs listed within it and add them manually. They can easily be exported later should you desire, and uploaded here for the benefit of others. :)

But there's no getting around it: someone has to do the hard slog of finding the data and adding it.

The Norway CAA also produce a guide to visual flying in Norway, which may be of interest: http://www.luftfartstilsynet.no/incoming/article5552.ece/BINARY/VFR-guide2012+nettversjon.pdf

Tim. @TimArnot

JMaskev

Thank you for the reply Tim,

Could not find anything related to VRPs on the site. Maybe it is called something else or have some abbreviation that I'm not aware of.

If I had a list of VRPs I would not mind to start and export them to a list and publish it for public use. If I just get some guidance of course. :)

JMaskev

The only VRPs I can find, is the ones around the airports. And I don't know if it is necessary to make a list of these? Since you normally have VORs to guide you on the airports?

The VRPs on the airport maps don't have any GPS position marked, so may be difficult to get a precise position.