News:

Plan-G has over 1700 followers on FACEBOOK! Click HERE and add your support

Main Menu

Cannot setup database - P3D v3, Windows 10, Networked Enviornment

Started by marknumskull, April 21, 2016, 02:29:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

marknumskull

Hi,

I've been trying for several days now without success to get Plan-G setup and has yet have had no success.

I have read several related threads but none of the solutions suggested have worked.

A bit of info on my environment:

• Windows 10
  • Networked on a domain
  • Documents folder is a network folder
  • I am an administrator

Things I've tried:

• Uninstalling & re-installing, including deleting the Plan-G Files folder which contains the databases
  • Running as administrator always
  • Disabling my network adapter to force it to store db files on local disk
  • Signing into the computer directly (not using domain) and installing there to eliminate potential domain issues, this means the documents folder is on C: not the network share
  • Switching off windows indexing to ensure nothing else is holding onto the database

What happens is that I open the application, as Admin, click on the build db button, select p3d and then select my p3d location & scenary config file. I then build and 1 of 2 things will happen

• Hangs on preparing database
  • Gets past preparing, reads scenery files then hangs on writing x intersections

The log is filled with database in use errors so this is obv what the issue is. Has anyone got any ideas how I can get round this, it looks like an awesome piece of software and I'm busting to try it out!

I should also mention, I have one bit of custom ORBX scenery added, in case this may impact anything?

Mark

sky one

Hello Mark,
I don't know how to fix your problem, but I may have a workaround: you could install Plan-G on the P3D PC, build the DB and copy it on the other PC.

Ciao
Cristiano
X-plane user

marknumskull

Hi,