News:

Plan-G has over 1700 followers on FACEBOOK! Click HERE and add your support

Main Menu

Crash - when adding new points to the flightplan

Started by bleriot13, November 22, 2017, 03:07:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bleriot13

Hi!

A few days ago I bought a brand new laptop. Windows 10 is still shining (no accumulative updates from older to newer versions) and there are no other apps installed besides X-Plane 10 and Plan-G 3.2 (the latest version available to download).

Nonetheless, sometimes (not always, but pretty often), Plan-G crashes when I try to add a new point (VOR, NDB, whatever) to my flight plan - this happens when I right-click on the map. Miraculously, the points are there when I restart Plan-G, but it is indeed a nuisance having to restart the program...

How can I help to identify the problem? I'm a newbie and don't know if there's any kind of log I could provide...

By the way: thank you very much for Plan-G. Wonderful piece of software it is!!!!

Regards,

Bleriot.

tim arnot

There's a log in My Documents\Plan-G Files although it may not capture the actual crash. Plan-G autosaves whenever you change a plan, so it should automatically recover the data if it does crash.

That the points are in the plan does suggest that it got further than just the initial right click, so maybe the log will show how far it did get. The Windows Event Viewer will also record a stack trace for any crash, and that could be of use too.

Tim. @TimArnot

bleriot13

Hi once more.

Excuse for my silence all these days, but I have been traveling abroad because of my job and have had no time at all for Plan-G!

I have found the log you talk about and attached it to this reply. I hope it helps!

Bleriot.

tim arnot

Thanks, that's useful. It hasn't shown what the problem is, but it's eliminated some possibilities that it isn't.
It does seem that it adds the waypoint to the plan, and it's some time after that that it crashes.